November Cycling in Edmonton   1 comment

2015 has been another poor year for cycling for me but any November day that I can get out on the bike in Edmonton is a win. Today, November 14, was one of those days. Most years in Edmonton there will be snow on the ground by mid-November and although year-round cycling is becoming increasingly common in this city, it is usually reserved for riders with fat bikes and studded tires. However, “so far so good” this year – the paths were dry so I on my slicks needed only to dress appropriately for the 4C temperature and the experience was enjoyable.

This is what the Edmonton river valley looked like:

image

Canada Geese sitting on the frozen surface of a pond in Rundle Park

image

An unusual bit of green leaves on some trees at the east end of Rundle Park

It was nice to see a handful of other cyclists out enjoying the afternoon:

image

The bare trees of a more typical mid-Autumn landscape in this part of the world

image

The climb out of the valley at the west end of Rundle Park

image

The descending path into Dawson Park

image

The undulating path through Dawson Park

image

My riding perspective

I may be pushing my luck in hoping that this wasn’t my last ride of the year but that’s what I’m hoping for.

One response to “November Cycling in Edmonton

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Mid-November … Waiting | YEGmonton

Leave a comment