Waiting for Spring 2016   1 comment

I haven’t had my bike out yet this year (it’s been 15 weeks since my last ride) but I feel the time is getting near. I did get out for a walk in Edmonton’s river valley yesterday, that gave me a good indication of what to expect on the cycling paths. I walked through Dawson Park and for the most part, the paths are very rideable.  There is a lot of sand and frequent wet spots (that shouldn’t be a problem as long as the temperature is above freezing and/or exposed to the sun). There are however a few hazards that mean a cyclist must not yet adopt the more carefree mindset of summer riding. Here is what I saw:

This path through Dawson Park is typical of the sun-exposed north side of the river valley,  – again, wet and sandy but quite passable

DSC_1494-1

There is however one habitually bad stretch of the path, 50+ meters north of Dawson Bridge, where it is wet/icy/slushy and extreme caution is required:

DSC_1484-1

The dogwood beside the path adding some color to an otherwise rather blaek late-winter landscape:

DSC_1488-1

Another low spot on the path through Dawson Park creates this pond across 90% of the path:

DSC_1491-1

While the path on the sunny north side of the river valley seem ready for fair weather cyclists (i.e. not those riding fat bikes or studded tires), the paths are the south bank of the valley, I will be avoiding for a least another month. This is a section of path, just west of Capilano bridge on the south side – pretty much coated in a few centimeters of ice:

DSC_1510-1

I am encouraged about getting an earlier start to this year’s cycling season. After a mild winter without much snow, we seem to be at least a couple of weeks ahead of recent years. I could ride today but at best I will try to locate all of cool weather clothing and do a quick check of the bike (air in tires, chain lubrication etc.)

Soon…

DSC_1493-1

Posted March 6, 2016 by Randy Talbot in Cycling

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Waiting for Spring 2016

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Spring preview arrived 2 weeks ago and I celebrated with a ride each weekend!

    Now it arrives in upstate New York in earnest this week, shooting up to 50-60s…! Woo hoo!

Leave a comment